French Immersion Advice from Teachers

A tip I wish I had been given was that it is so overwhelming and the key is to just start. Guided reading, for example, seems impossible to run after reading all of the books on what to do, but it's a matter of starting and then adjusting the groups, work and routines as needed. Oh, actually, routines, routines, routines, whatever language you're teaching, that's the key. The last tip would be to remember they need to hear French first, then speak it then read and write. Jennifer

It can be hard to find quality books and resources, but the best thing I ever did was collaborate with the other teachers in my grade group and we help each other out, share resources and plan lessons together. Our French support teacher is also part of our collaborative team and has a wealth of resource suggestions and ideas! Malika

Advice to new teachers would be to value oral French as much as possible. Talk with kids in French and offer them as many opportunities as possible to practice French. Repetition is key. Melissa

I really appreciate authentic Francophone texts that were originally written in French. The students get excited about new, fresh, and unknown texts. Nichole

Advice to new FI teachers, especially at the beginning in Middle/Late Immersion: Take your time, remember they are just starting to learn this new language and although we know kids learn faster than adults, it doesn't always happen overnight. Student engagement and motivation is a huge part of it. If you have that piece, generally the acquisition will follow. Jennifer

Good oral language skills and a strong foundation in reading that includes decoding skills is critical. Your colleagues will help and support you. Be a good colleague. Be kind and be helpful and it will be reciprocated. Monique

TÉMOIGNAGES D’ENSEIGNANTS

J’aurais aimé qu’on me dise dès le départ qu’il y a beaucoup de choses à faire et que la clé, c’est simplement de commencer. Par exemple, la lecture guidée est quelque chose qui semble impossible après avoir lu tous les livres à ce sujet, mais il s’agit de commencer, d’ajuster les groupes, le travail et la routine au fur et à mesure. D’ailleurs, des routines, des routines, des routines, quel que soit la langue dans laquelle vous enseignez, c’est essentiel! Rappelez-vous que les élèves doivent d’abord entendre du français, ensuite le parler, puis lire et écrire. Jennifer

Il peut être difficile de trouver des livres et des ressources de qualité, mais la meilleure chose que j’ai faite a été de collaborer avec les autres enseignants du même niveau scolaire. Nous nous entraidons, partageons nos ressources et planifions les leçons ensemble. L’enseignant de soutien en français fait aussi partie de notre équipe, et a une foule de suggestions et d’idées de ressources! Malika

Aux nouveaux enseignants, je conseillerais de valoriser autant que possible le français oral. Parlez en français avec les jeunes et offrez-leur autant d’occasions que vous le pouvez de pratiquer cette langue. La répétition est la clé. Melissa

J’aime beaucoup les livres qui ont été écrits en français à l’origine. Les élèves sont emballés par les nouveaux textes. Nichole

Mon conseil aux nouveaux enseignants d’immersion française, surtout au début de l’immersion intermédiaire ou tardive : prenez votre temps. Rappelez-vous que vos élèves commencent à peine à apprendre cette nouvelle langue, et bien que les enfants apprennent plus vite que les adultes, cela ne se fait pas du jour au lendemain. L’engagement et la motivation des élèves sont très importants. Ils sont souvent un gage de succès. Jennifer

Il est essentiel d’avoir de bonnes compétences linguistiques à l’oral et de solides bases en lecture, y compris des aptitudes de décodage. Vos collègues vous aideront et vous soutiendront. Soyez un bon collègue. Soyez gentil et serviable, et on vous rendra la pareille. Monique